Maxing

Leave a comment
Uncategorized

I am not a people person.

That means different things to different people. (If you’re a fan of Ray Winninger’s game ‘Underground‘, for example, it means you probably don’t eat at the most popular restaurant of the year 2021 — just one of the things of the world of 2021 we’re better off without.)

But that’s not what I mean. What I mean is that my interpersonal skills are… poorly developed. Vestigial, even. In short, I don’t play well with the other children.

Of course, I can if I want to. I can be pleasant. I can be sociable. I can be downright gregarious.

If I want to.

Last night, for example, I sat next to a young starship captain at dinner. She didn’t burst into tears, howl incoherently (though she did call me ‘Unca Doom’) or tremble irrationally. Neither did I.

And recently I had breakfast with another young lady and her parents. I did my best to be pleasant, affable and good-natured.

 

maxingoat

In retrospect, I could have tried harder.

 

The Author

Rose Glace is the pseudonym of nobody important.

Leave a Reply

